啟發好奇心

全方位閱讀啟智,培養好奇心及求知慾

港大同學會書院的教學重點是啟發學生的好奇心,我們相信全方位閱讀是達成此目標的重要策略。

 

我們的理念:今天的讀者,明天的領袖

誠如Casey Imafidon撰文“10 Reasons Why People Who Read A Lot are More Likely to be Good Leaders”所說,年青人作為明日的領袖,假如讀多識廣,自能擁有更出色的人際技巧、更豐富的詞彙、更廣闊的視野、更理性的聯想和更清晰的焦點,此外更會更從容、知性、懂得汲取經驗學、行事充滿幹勁、以目標為本,而且擅於管理時間。

 

與時並進:培養批判性思維,善用資訊科技

在現今科技年代,學生很習慣以科技輔助學習。網上有許多有用資源,學生可在課餘時間繼續汲取知識。我們也鼓勵家長多閱讀和與子女談論各種問題,加強彼此間的溝通,享受優質的共處時光。

 

港大同學會書院提供許多促進學習的服務、書籍及資源,讓所有持份者懂得批判性思考和善用各類模式的資訊及知識。事實證明,擁有溝通、動機、積極性、創意及回應技能的學生,將來成為更出色的明日領袖。我們提倡的學習及閱讀方針,目的正是要培養這些技能。學生可強化這些技能,在不久的將來取得更大的成就。

 

無盡的選擇:豐富的閱讀資源

書院多年來一直訂閱多份印刷報章,但為保護環境和方便學生取得資訊,我們亦提供精選的網上資源。以下是我們建議學生閱讀的網上資源:

 

英文網站:南華早報: www.scmp.com, 英國衛報: www.theguardian.com, 英國每日電訊報 www.telegraph.co.uk, 大英百科全書線上版: school.ebonline.com (學校訂閱);

 

中文網站: 灼見名家: www.master-insight.com, 明報網站: www.mingpao.com, 經濟日報: inews.hket.com.

 

此外,書院亦訂閱Newsela供全校學生閱讀,藉着這項全方位資源加強「跨課程閱讀」及「跨課程」計劃。

 

(Newsela是教學內容平台,收集大量引人入勝的可存取資訊,加入評估和分析評論,令閱讀新聞變得更富趣味,從每個主題學習新知識。Newsela收錄學生感興趣的新聞,並與主課程和相關標準扣連。Newsela每篇報導均分為5級閱讀程度的版本,適合不同閱讀能力的學生。有關的評估直接匯入新聞報導,使學生更投入閱讀,讓教師和校長深入洞察學生的活動,據此規劃措施,令學生更用心閱讀,進而提升學習能力。 (資料來源: https://www.edsurge.com/product-reviews/newsela)

 

除了網上資源,本校圖書館亦備有多份印刷雜誌供學生閱讀,包括以下:

 

英文雜誌:English Channel/English Corner/Readers Digest/BrainSpace (適合中一至中二學生);Empire/PC Games/Rolling Stones/Seventeen/Scientific America (適合中三至中四學生);National Geographic/Times/Education Leadership (適合中五至中六學生);中文雜誌:未來少年/香港中學生文藝月刊/知識(適合中一至中二學生);選擇月刊/中國國家地理/健康動力/城市文藝/中國旅遊(適合中三至中四學生);亞洲周刊/明報月刊/信報月刊/字花/中國國家地理(適合中五至中六學生)。

 

圖書館The Hub備有逾20,000本書籍和CD及DVD光碟,歡迎所有學生(和家長)取閱可用資源。

 

書院的心臟:圖書館 ― The Wellbeing Hub

我們的閱讀計劃是正向教育方針的基礎,而圖書館就是本校信念的核心象徵。The Wellbeing Hub經過精心設計,環境宜人,讓大家放鬆身心及充電,悠閑地看書、分享、交流、探索和進行其他活動。

 

The Hub的特許圖書館館長Ms Jennifer Yu親切友善,笑面迎人。她在一群學生圖書館管理員及家長義工協助下為校園社群服務,建立良好關係和分享正向情緒,增進大家的使命感、參與感及成就感,亦即正向教育中的五大元素。

 

正向使命:The Wellbeing Hub

The Wellbeing Hub是本校正向教育福措施的核心象徵,體現我們的四大基石:

  • 東西方文化的結合
  • 學校與家庭的結合
  • 學校與社會的結合
  • 愛心與專業的結合

 

為學生社群提供安寧的空間,讓大家抱着成長進步的心態,建立性格強項,同時致力強化正向教育的六大元素:身心健康、正向情緒、人際關係、人生意義、全情投入、正向成就。

 

以公平不偏頗的原則為本校的學術社群提供卓越服務,一視同仁,確保人人皆可使用圖書館資源。

 

全面照顧各類使用者的需要,由熱衷於閱讀但經驗不足的11歲低年級學生,以至準備升學接受高等教育的高年級學生,做好事,感覺良好,促進校園社群蓬勃發展。

 

為全校學生提供最新的閱讀資源,包括與課程相關的印刷、非印刷及電子材料,宣揚港大同學會書院的教學標準和校訓:明德惟志、格物惟勤。

 

提供、引入及運用以人為本的環境,廣泛應用科技,致力實踐終身教學的承諾。

 

認同和重視每位職員的性格強項和他們的需要,支持他們增進圖書館學的知識。

 

我們深愛閱讀:快來閱讀

我們在The Hub內外多個地點提供讀物,包括:

  • S1-S2 DEAR (Drop Everything and Read)圖書館管理員課

課程主題包括:

  1. 如何利用網上資源(Newsela、大英百科全書線上版等)
  2. 在The Hub和班圖書館選擇適合的讀物
  3. 抄襲
  4. 參考
  5. 閱讀理解策略
  • DEAR學科班(採取不同形式 ; 英文、中國語文、人文、科學及數學)
  • DEAR班圖書館的精選中文及英文讀物
  • 校園各處的DEAR書籍
  • 每日小息、午膳及放學後的好時光

學生可閱讀印刷讀物或利用個人學習器材閱讀網上資源。

 

館內藏書任探究,館外求知續追尋

My Inquisitive Nature

Nurturing Our Inquisitive Nature through a Holistic Reading Approach

At HKUGA College, nurturing students’ inquisitive nature is our top priority. For us, a key strategy to achieving this goal is a holistic reading approach.

 

Our Philosophy: Today a Reader, Tomorrow a Leader

As tomorrow’s leaders, we believe, as shared by Casey Imafidon, in the article "10 Reasons Why People Who Read a Lot Are More Likely to Be Good Leaders" that as better readers, we have better people skills, a wider vocabulary, a more rounded perspective, better associations and an improved focus. We also are more relaxed, more intellectually challenged, reminded of past actions, more energetic and purpose driven and are good time managers.

 

Future Proofing: Growing Critical Thinkers and Effective Users of Information Technology

In the age of technology, students are used to using technology to assist learning. Learning with good online resources assists students to extend their learning outside of school time. Parents are also encouraged to enhance communication by spending quality time reading and discussing issues with their children.

 

The College offers learning services, books and resources that enable all stakeholders to become critical thinkers and effective users of information and knowledge in all formats. It has been demonstrated that when students are equipped with communication, motivation, positivity, creativity and feedback skills, this helps prepare them as future leaders. Through our approach to studying and reading that emphasizes these skills, students are strengthening the skills to achieve higher levels of success in their near future.

 

Endless Options: Rich Reading Resources

For many years, the school has arranged subscriptions of printed newspapers; however, in our efforts to be more environmentally friendly and to allow students access to information more conveniently, we believe students also benefit from well selected online resources. The following are a selection of online resources we recommend:

 

English Websites: South China Morning Post: www.scmp.com, Guardian: www.theguardian.com, Daily Telegraphy: www.telegraph.co.uk, Britannica: school.ebonline.com (School Subscription);

 

Chinese Websites: 灼見名家: www.master-insight.com, 明報網站: www.mingpao.com, 經濟日報: inews.hket.com.

 

As a school-wide resource and to enhance our Reading Across the Curriculum (RaC) Programme and Cross-curricular Programme, the College has purchased a school-wide subscription to Newsela.

 

(Newsela is an Instructional Content Platform that brings together engaging, accessible content with integrated assessments and insights to supercharge reading engagement and learning in every subject. Content on Newsela covers topics students care about, that connect to core curriculum, and are aligned to standards. Each article on Newsela is published at 5 reading levels so that every article is accessible to every student in a class, regardless of reading ability. Assessments are integrated directly into articles to help students engage with the content and to give teachers and principals actionable insights on students’ activity. The result is more engaged readers—and engaged readers are better learners. (from: https://www.edsurge.com/product-reviews/newsela)

 

In addition to the online resources, the school provides a printed magazine collection for students to read in our library. Our collection of magazines includes the following titles:

 

Collection of English Magazines: English Channel/English Corner/ Readers Digest/ BrainSpace (suitable for S1 – S2 students), Empire/PC Games/Rolling Stone/Seventeen/ Scientific America (suitable for S3- S4 students), National Geographic/ Times/Education Leadership (suitable for S5- S6 students); Collection of Chinese Magazines: 未來少年/香港中學生文藝月刊/知識 (suitable for S1 – S2 students), 選擇月刊/ 中國國家地理/健康動力/城市文藝/中國旅遊(suitable for S3- S4 students), 亞洲周刊/ 明報月刊/ 信報月刊/字花/中國國家地埋 (suitable for S5- S6 students).

 

Finally, The Hub has a collection of more than 20,000 books, plus CDs & DVDs. All students (and parents!) are welcomed to The Hub to access available resources.

 

The Heart of the College: Our Library - The Wellbeing Hub

A cornerstone of our positive education approach is our reading initiative. The symbolic heart of our belief is found in our new library, The Wellbeing Hub, which has been designed to invite all who enter into an inviting space to relax, recharge, read, share, exchange, explore and so much more.

 

Inside The Hub, our friendly Chartered Librarian, Ms Jennifer Yu, will greet you. She is ably assisted by our student librarians and parent volunteers. Together, through serving the school community, they help build positive relationships and share positive emotions, while increasing everyone’s sense of purpose, engagement and accomplishment – five key elements of our positive education wellbeing focus.

 

Positive Purposes: The Wellbeing Hub

Being the symbolic heart of our positive education wellbeing initiative and the embodiment of our four cornerstones:

  • Integration of Eastern and Western Cultures
  • Integration of the School and the Family
  • Integration of the School and the Community
  • Integration of Passion and Professionalism

 

Providing the learning community with a wellbeing space that invites everyone to embrace a growth mindset and build their character strengths, while focusing on strengthening the six positive education elements of heath, emotions, relationships, purpose, engagement and accomplishment.

 

Providing a service of the highest quality to the academic community of the school in a fair and unbiased manner together with equitable access for all.


Being capable of catering for users ranging from 11-year-olds with enthusiasm who have limited experience, eventually, to senior students about to embark upon their tertiary education journeys, ready to contribute to the growth of a flourishing community by doing good and feeling good.

 

Providing all students with an up-to-date resource collection consisting of print, non-print and electronic materials that are aligned with the school curriculum and support HKUGA College’s academic standards and motto – Strive for Virtue, Quest for Truth.

 

Providing, integrating and utilizing an ethically focused technology rich environment to support a commitment to life-long teaching and learning.

 

Acknowledging and valuing the character strengths of individual members of staff and their needs to advance their knowledge of librarianship.

 

Reading is DEAR to us: Time to Read

Within and beyond The Hub, we offer multiple access points to reading materials and opportunities, including:

  • S1-S2 DEAR (Drop Everything and Read) Librarian Lessons

Some topics covered during these lessons include

  1. Using online resources (Newsela, Brittanica, etc.)
  2. Choosing appropriate reading materials in the Hub and Class Library
  3. Plagiarism
  4. Referencing
  5. Reading comprehension strategies
  • DEAR Subject Lessons (in various forms, in English, Chinese, Humanities, Science and Mathematics)
  • DEAR Classroom Libraries with a selection of Chinese and English reading materials
  • DEAR Book Collections throughout the Campus
  • Lunch Wellbeing DEAR Time every day at recess, lunch wellbeing time and after school

Students may read hard copies or online resources using their own learning devices.

 

Nurturing our inquisitive nature at The Wellbeing Hub and beyond!